Elder Samson Kayode Sangolade
Transitional Committee Chairman
The Local Government

The history of Yewa South Local Government dates back to 1954 when the then Ilaro District Council like other district councils in the country was composed of traditional rulers and elected members with the whites serving as secretaries. Later in 1958, it moved to a more embracing council with the emergence of the Egbado Divisional Council.

more information...

The People

The inhabitants of the Local Government are mainly Yoruba speaking with various dialects like Yewa, Anago. Other ethnic groups also exist in a peaceful atmosphere like Hausas, Igbos, Igedes etc. The Yewa River is an important linkage in the Local Government area. The three main religions - Christianity, Islam, traditional religions are well practiced. There are ten wards in the Local Government and they include - Ilaro I, II & III, Iwoye, Idogo, Owode I & II, Ilobi-Erinja, Ajilete and Okeodan Wards. There are also two major blocks - Ilaro and Ifekowajo
Yewa South Local Government
Ogun State of Nigeria
Welcome to the Official website of Yewa South Local Government, Ogun state of Nigeria
2011. All rights reserved by the Yewa South Local Government of Ogun State, Nigeria.
Overview of Projects and Events of Elder Samson Kayode Sangolade administration